WE BRING INDUSTRY AND ECØLØGY INTO HARMONY
ALT-NOW_edited.png

METEX NØØVISTA is introducing a  new production mode in France, one that is more respectful of the environment and that meets  consumers' expectations in terms of naturalness and societal impact.

METEX NØØVISTA is using industrial biotechnology to  materialize its contribution to the ecological transition of industry and to revive economy in the of France's territories.

a producer of natural, high-performance ingredients

We use renewable raw materials and a fermentation process to produce 1,3 propanediol (PDO) and Butyric Acid (BA)  for the cosmetics, nutrition, fragrances and flavors, and biopolymers markets  as well as for the formulation of specialty technical fluids. These ingredients provide manufacturers with the natural and effective alternative solutions, they are looking for, to satisfy the expectations of demanding consumers. Our ingredients are 100% bio-based alternatives, produced in France with responsible and reliable processes that ensure traceability, excellent quality, and transparency. 

aa contributor to the energy transition

and economic revitalization

The arrival of METEX NØØVISTA at the Chemesis Carling-St-Avold industrial platform ushers in a new era – the bioeconomy era – at this site with a long history. After witnessing the rise of the charcoal and steel industries and the decline of the petrochemical industry, this platform will be the home of METEX NØØVISTA, a company that will take over the role of producing intermediate ingredients for the manufacture of our consumer goods. The METEX NØØVISTA plant will embody the energy transition in this region offering agro-industrial resources, industrial know-how,  men and women willing to contribute to the construction of a new and more sustainable industry.

 

a unifying project

The industrialization of a biotechnological processs, the marketing and sales of the ingredients PDO and BA made by METEX NØØVISTA, and the vision of a sustainable industrial future come together in a project that has obtained a joint commitment from local stakeholders, both public and private, as well as industrial partners who share our values and our vision. Created in 2018, METEX NØØVISTA will not only help to revitalize industry in the region, but also provide opportunities at the Chemesis platform by creating some fifty local jobs.

GettyImages-1171705167.jpg
LOGO-METEX-_edited.png

55%

LOGO-NOOVISTA-BLANC_edited.png
klipartz.com.png

45%

METEX NØØVISTA is jointly owned by METabolic EXplorer (55%) and Sociétés de Projets Industriels (SPI), a Bpifrance (French Public Investment Bank)-managed investment fund (45%). It will produce and sell two bio-based functional ingredients: 1,3 Propanediol (PDO) and butyric acid (BA). The former is used in the cosmetics and biopolymers markets and the latter in the animal nutrition and health and the flavors and fragrances markets.

A pioneer in biotechnology, METabolic EXplorer has been developing fermentation processes as alternatives to petrochemistry for 20 years. Its newly created subsidiary METEX NØØVISTA will be the first to implement, on an industrial scale, its technology for producing BA and PDO. By giving financial support to this innovative French company, the Bpifrance investment fund SPI, is helping to transform our means of production and to revitalize industry in our regions.

“The arrival of the METEX project is definitely going to attract the attention of the French chemical ecosystem, which is on the lookout for ways to enable its industry to address the challenges of the ecological transition. We can all work toward the goal ok making making Carling St-Avold a centre of excellence in biochemistry.””

 

ISABELLE PATRIER, Regional Development Director, Total

“The METEX project reflects the Grand-Est region's commitment to industrial revitalization and job creation supported by a more local, more sustainable, and more circular economy – that is, the bioeconomy. More than ever, the Grand-Est is a business-friendly region and great place for investing, creating, and starting new business.”

 

Région Grand-Est

Board of Directors

Benjamin Gonzalez

Director representing

METabolic EXplorer

Benjamin Gonzalez holds an engineering degree and a PhD in biotechnology. He founded METabolic EXplorer in 1999, drawing on work done for his doctoral thesis. The driving force behind the company's development, he is in charge of devising and implementing its  strategy, in particular with regard to financial matters and business development. Under his leadership, the company has now entered a phase of industrial and commercial development.

Antoine Darbois

Chairman of the Board of Directors

Antoine Darbois has 35 years’ experience in specialty chemicals and high-tech materials. He has held general management positions in subsidiaries of Pechiney/Carbone Lorraine and in the Explosifs et Produits Chimiques group. He has extensive experience in the creation and management of joint-venture companies in Europe, the United States, and Asia. Mr. Darbois has a degree in civil engineering from the Ecole des Mines and is a graduate of the Institut d'Etudes Politiques Paris.

Jérôme Dupas

Independant director

Jérôme Dupas has extensive experience in investment banking in Paris and London. After serving as Managing Director of HSBC Investment Bank in Paris, he was head of Corporate Finance at Fortis and then at BNP Paribas Fortis in France. He is currently Managing Director of Corporate Finance at Pramex International, a subsidiary of Groupe BPCE. Mr. Dupas has participated in the governance of METabolic EXplorer since 2009. He holds an engineering degree from the Université de Technologie de Compiègne (UTC) and an MBA from the business school ESSEC.

Fabien Brenneval

Director representing Bpifrance

(SPI Investment Fund)

An investment director at Bpifrance's SPI investment fund, Fabien Brenneval has some fifteen years' experience in the financing and development of international industrial projects. He has gained expertise in raw materials markets, international logistics, and industrial entrepreneurial ventures through his work at the World Bank, in the Metals & Mining corporate finance division of J.P. Morgan in London, at the trading and investment company Trafigura, and most recently, at the SPI investment fund. Mr.  Brenneval is on the boards of several small and midsize industrial companies in the bioproduction, semiconductor, and battery sectors. He is a graduate of the engineering school Ponts et Chaussées,

Jean-Philippe Richard

Director representing Bpifrance

(SPI Investment Fund)

A Senior Investment Director at Bpifrance's SPI investment fund, Jean-Philippe Richard is on the boards of several small and midsize industrial companies in Europe operating in the bioproduction and New Space sectors. With more than 25 years of experience in investment banking, strategy consulting, and general management, he has in-depth knowledge of the bioproduction and biotechnology sectors in Europe and brings proven and unique expertise in the industrial application of innovation, notably in the field of green chemistry.

BENJAMIN GONZALEZ

“Bpifrance's investment is alongside us to create METEX NØØVISTA, which will implement the technology and market the PDO and BA, attests to the competitiveness of our bioprocesses, which will have a role to play in the necessary ecological transition thanks to their ability to deliver the outstanding performance, quality, and 'naturalness' sought by manufacturers in the cosmetics, animal and human nutrition, and other markets.” 

Chairman and CEO of METEX

NOUS ACCØRDONS
INDUSTRIE ET ECØLØGIE

METEX NØØVISTA implémente en France un nouveau mode de production, plus respectueux de l’environnement et adressant les attentes des consommateurs en terme de naturalité et d’impact sociétal.

METEX NØØVISTA matérialise au travers de la biotechnologie la transition écologique

de l’industrie et la revitalisation économique de nos territoires.

un producteur d'ingrédients naturels et performants

A partir de matière première renouvelable, nous produisons des ingrédients fonctionnels par fermentation pour les marchés de la cosmétique, de la nutrition, des arômes et parfums, des matériaux et de la formulation de fluides techniques de spécialité. Ils apportent naturalité et performance aux utilisateurs qui recherchent des solutions alternatives pour adresser les attentes des consommateurs exigeants. Nos ingrédients sont des alternatives 100% bio-sourcées issues d’une production responsable, en France, et d’un procédé robuste offrant traçabilité, qualité et transparence.  

un acteur de la transition énergétique et

de la revitalisation économique

Implantée sur la plateforme industrielle CHEMESIS de Carling-St-Avold, METEX NØØVISTA symbolise l’entrée dans une nouvelle ère industrielle de ce site chargé d’histoire : l’ère de la bioéconomie. Après avoir connu l’essor des industries de la carbochimie, de la sidérurgie et aujourd’hui le déclin  de la pétrochimie, cette plateforme accueille le site de METEX NØØVISTA qui reprend le flambeau de la production des ingrédients intermédiaires à la fabrication de nos biens de consommation. Le site de METEX NØØVISTA matérialise la transition énergétique dans ce territoire offrant des ressources agro-industrielles, des savoir-faire industriels et des forces vives prêtes à contribuer à la construction de nos nouveaux modes de production, plus durables.

 

un projet fédérateur

L’industrialisation du procédé de biotechnologie, la commercialisation des ingrédients PDO et AB de METEX NØØVISTA, ainsi que la vision d’un avenir industriel durable ont fédéré un engagement autour du projet de la part des parties prenantes locales, publiques ou privées, ainsi que de la part de partenaires industriels partageant nos valeurs et notre vision. Créé en 2018, METEX NØØVISTA participera ainsi non seulement à la réindustrialisation du territoire mais aussi au redéploiement industriel de la plateforme CHEMESIS en favorisant la création d’une cinquantaine d’emplois locaux.

GettyImages-1171705167.jpg
LOGO-METEX-_edited.png

55%

klipartz.com.png

45%

METEX NØØVISTA est une co-entreprise détenue à 55% par METabolic EXplorer et 45% par le fonds SPI (Société de Projets Industriels) de Bpifrance. Elle produira et commercialisera deux ingrédients fonctionnels d’origine naturelle : le PDO (1,3 Propanediol) et l’AB (Acide Butyrique) qui adresseront les marchés de la cosmétique et des bio-polymères pour le PDO et de la nutrition/santé animale et des arômes et parfums pour l’AB.

METabolic EXplorer est un pionnier de la biotechnologie, qui développe depuis 20 ans des procédés alternatifs à la pétrochimie, basés sur la fermentation. La création de sa filiale METEX NØØVISTA et la première concrétisation industrielle de sa technologie de production d’AB et PDO. Au travers cette investissement, le fonds Bpifrance accompagne une société innovante française, afin de transformer nos moyens de production et de revitaliser l’industrie sur nos territoires.

“Il est certain que l’arrivée du projet METEX va attirer le regard de l’écosystème français de la chimie qui reste en veille sur la capacité de son secteur à intégrer les enjeux de la transition écologique. Nous pouvons tous partager l’ambition de faire de Carling St-Avold un pôle d’excellence de la Biochimie”

 

ISABELLE PATRIER, directeur du Développement Régional de Total

“Le projet de la société METEX reflète l’engagement fort de la Région Grand Est en faveur de la réindustrialisation et de l’emploi, dans le cadre d’une économie plus locale, plus durable et plus circulaire :

la Bioéconomie. Plus que jamais, le Grand Est est une terre « business friendly»,

où il fait bon entreprendre, investir et créer.”

 

Région Grand-Est

Le conseil d'administration

Benjamin Gonzalez

Administrateur représentant associé METabolic EXplorer

Benjamin Gonzalez est ingénieur et titulaire d’un doctorat en Biotechnologie. Il a fondé METabolic EXplorer en 1999 à partir de ses travaux de thèse de doctorat. Élément moteur du développement de la société, il a en charge la stratégie de l’entreprise et sa mise en œuvre tout particulièrement celle liée au financement et au business développement. L’entreprise, sous son impulsion, est aujourd’hui entrée dans la phase de développement industriel et commercial.

Antoine Darbois

Président du Conseil d'Administration

Antoine Darbois a 35 ans d’expérience dans le secteur de la chimie de spécialité et des matériaux de haute technologie. Il a exercé des responsabilités de direction générale au sein de filiales de Pechiney/Carbone Lorraine puis au niveau du groupe Explosifs et Produits Chimiques. Il a une large expérience de la création et de la gestion de co-entreprises, aussi bien en Europe qu’aux Etats-Unis ou en Asie. Antoine Darbois est ingénieur civil des Mines et diplômé de Sciences-Po Paris.

Jérôme Dupas

Administrateur indépendant

Titulaire d'un diplôme d'ingénieur de l’UTC et d'un MBA de l'ESSEC, Jérôme Dupas a une grande expérience de la banque d'affaires, à Paris et à Londres. Il a notamment été Directeur Général de HSBC Investment Bank à Paris, et responsable des activités de Corporate Finance pour Fortis puis BNP Paribas Fortis en France. Jérôme Dupas est aujourd'hui Managing Director en charge du département Corporate Finance de la société Pramex International filiale du Groupe BPCE. Jérôme Dupas participe à la gouvernance de METabolic EXplorer depuis 2009 et il est président de son comité des rémunérations et des nominations et de son comité d'audit.

Fabien Brenneval

Administrateur représentant associé Bpifrance (Fonds SPI)

Directeur d’investissement au sein du fonds d’investissement SPI de Bpifrance, Fabien Brenneval a près de 15 ans d’expérience dans l’investissement et le développement de projets industriels internationaux. Ingénieur des Ponts et Chaussées, il a développé une expertise sur les marchés des matières premières, la logistique internationale et l’entreprenariat industriel à travers ses expériences à la Banque Mondiale, dans la division corporate finance Metals & Mining chez J.P. Morgan à Londres, dans la société de négoce et d’investissement Trafigura et dernièrement au sein du fonds SPI. Fabien Brenneval occupe plusieurs postes au sein de conseils d’administration de PME industrielles opérant dans les secteurs de la bioproduction, des semi-conducteurs et des batteries.

Jean-Philippe Richard

Administrateur représentant associé Bpifrance (Fonds SPI)

Directeur d’investissement senior au sein du fonds d’investissement SPI de Bpifrance, Jean-Philippe Richard occupe plusieurs postes au sein de conseils d'administration de PME industrielles européennes opérant dans les secteurs de la bioproduction et du New Space. Avec plus de 25 ans d'expérience dans la banque et l'investissement, le conseil en stratégie et la direction générale, il possède une connaissance approfondie des secteurs européens de la bioproduction et des biotechnologies et apporte une expertise éprouvée et rare dans l'industrialisation de l'innovation, notamment en ce qui concerne la chimie verte.

BENJAMIN GONZALEZ

“L’investissement de Bpifrance à nos côtés pour la création de METEX NØØVISTA, qui opèrera la technologie et commercialisera le PDO et l’AB, valide la compétitivité économique de nos bioprocédés qui s’inscrivent dans la nécessaire transition écologique en permettant de répondre aux attentes des industriels en quête de performances, de qualité et plus largement de

« naturalité » sur les marchés tels que la cosmétique, l’alimentation animale ou l’alimentation humaine. ” 

PGG DE METEX

© 2021 par METEX Nøøvista

Suivez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux :

  • LinkedIn Social Icône
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon